Results From Saturday's Municipal And School Elections Across North Texas | KERA News

Results From Saturday's Municipal And School Elections Across North Texas

May 7, 2017

A familiar face is returning to the Dallas City Council. Meanwhile, concerns about alleged voter fraud have delayed the results in a council race. And in Fort Worth, the incumbent mayor easily won re-election.

Here's a roundup of results from Saturday's municipal elections:

Dallas County

Dallas City Council

A former Dallas City Council member is returning to his seat. Dwaine Caraway was elected in District 4 with 53 percent of the vote. He defeated the incumbent, Carolyn King Arnold. Caraway supported Arnold just two years ago, but during the campaign said that was a mistake. (The seat represents East Oak Cliff, mostly between Interstates 35E and 45.)

Concerns over alleged voter fraud mean there’s a delay in tabulating the results in one Dallas City Council race. In District 6 in West Dallas, several voters complained in recent weeks that their signatures were forged on mail-in ballots. Hundreds of ballots were being held so they could be authenticated. As of Saturday night, District 6 incumbent Monica Alonzo appeared headed to a runoff for the seat. Alonzo was in the lead, with nearly 40 percent of the vote. Omar Narvaez had 27 percent. But Alex Dickey was close behind with 25 percent. Learn more from KERA reporter Jessica Diaz-Hurtado.

Incumbent Philip Kingston was re-elected to District 14, which includes East Dallas, Uptown, downtown and Oak Lawn. Kingston received 55 percent of the vote. A challenger, Matt Wood, had received several high-profile endorsements. The race had received a lot of attention due to the endorsements for Wood – and concerns about how Kingston interacts with his council colleagues during meetings. Kingston says he’s effective.

In District 11, which represents parts of North Dallas and Far North Dallas, incumbent Lee Kleinman got 63 percent of the vote. His challenger was Candy Evans, who runs a real estate news website.

Learn more from The Dallas Morning News.

Dallas ISD

In the Dallas school district, there will be a runoff for the District 2 seat. The Dallas Morning News reports:

Dallas ISD will see a runoff election for one of its school board seats, with one of its biggest reform efforts likely hanging in the balance. Challenger Lori Kirkpatrick beat trustee Dustin Marshall by nearly 300 votes in their tight race for his District 2 seat. But Kirkpatrick fell just shy of the 50 percent threshold required to avoid a runoff. The third candidate in the race, Richard Young, finished far behind - but pulled in enough votes to force a June 10 runoff between Kirkpatrick and Marshall.

Tarrant County

Fort Worth Mayor and City Council

In Tarrant County, Fort Worth Mayor Betsy Price easily won re-election, winning 70 percent of the vote. Her challenger, Chris Nettles, faced an uphill battle against Price, who’s popular and well-funded. Price had run unopposed the past couple of elections.

There will be a runoff for Fort Worth City Council’s District 2, which stretches from downtown to Far North Fort Worth. Council member Sal Espino is retiring after nearly a dozen years. There were four challengers: Carlos Flores got 44 percent of the vote and Steve Thornton got 36 percent. 

Learn more from KERA's Christopher Connelly.


Voters in Arlington decided to establish a civil service system to govern personnel decisions for the city’s firefighters. Proposition 2 was leading with 54 percent of the vote. Voters also decided to build a senior center. Mayor Jeff Williams won re-election.

Learn more from the Fort Worth Star-Telegram.

Collin County

In the Collin County Community College District, voters approved a $600 million bond package. College officials say the money will help improve campuses and build new facilities. They say the bonds will help the district keep pace with the fast-growing population in Collin County.

Plano Mayor Harry LaRosiliere was re-elected with 52 percent of the vote.

More Results

Tarrant County results

Dallas County results

Collin County results

Denton County results

Rockwall County results