Bill Zeeble http://keranews.org en The Pricey Game Of Youth Sports: Using A Private Coach To Boost Hoop Dreams http://keranews.org/post/pricey-game-youth-sports-using-private-coach-boost-hoop-dreams <p>Ricky Rijos is ratcheting up his hoop dreams. Ricky, who’s a member of KERA’s Class of ’17, has left one private basketball coach for a new, pricier one – whose clients include NBA and top college players.&nbsp;</p><p> Tue, 19 Aug 2014 17:20:30 +0000 Bill Zeeble 54295 at http://keranews.org The Pricey Game Of Youth Sports: Using A Private Coach To Boost Hoop Dreams This Graduation Will Be On Time: Learning To Fix The World's Priciest Watches http://keranews.org/post/graduation-will-be-time-learning-fix-worlds-priciest-watches <p>Yes, there’s TCU and Texas Wesleyan. But Fort Worth is also home to one school without peer: a world-class institution that teaches a handful of select students how to repair the world’s most expensive watches. Meet the Class of 2014, which graduates Wednesday.</p><p> Wed, 13 Aug 2014 01:14:06 +0000 Bill Zeeble 54016 at http://keranews.org This Graduation Will Be On Time: Learning To Fix The World's Priciest Watches Some North Texas Winners, Losers In TEA Annual Ratings http://keranews.org/post/some-north-texas-winners-losers-tea-annual-ratings <p>More Dallas ISD schools need improvement compared to last year, while Duncanville ISD met the state’s minimum standards, which it didn’t a year ago. We sift through more annual school ratings, out today from the Texas Education Agency.</p><p> Sat, 09 Aug 2014 01:19:40 +0000 Bill Zeeble 53839 at http://keranews.org Some North Texas Winners, Losers In TEA Annual Ratings North Texas School Districts Receive College Readiness Distinction http://keranews.org/post/north-texas-school-districts-receive-college-readiness-distinction <p>The Texas Education Agency has just released its 2014 accountability ratings for schools, and several North Texas school districts received a distinction designation for post-secondary readiness.</p><p> Fri, 08 Aug 2014 17:25:21 +0000 Krystina Martinez & Bill Zeeble 53800 at http://keranews.org North Texas School Districts Receive College Readiness Distinction The Clock's Ticking For School Immunizations http://keranews.org/post/clocks-ticking-school-immunizations <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">With public school starting in a little more than two weeks, county health departments are seeing more and more families packing their clinics to get kids’ shots.</span></p><p> Thu, 07 Aug 2014 22:45:30 +0000 Bill Zeeble 53770 at http://keranews.org The Clock's Ticking For School Immunizations Dallas Home-Rule Charter Won't Be On Fall Ballot http://keranews.org/post/dallas-home-rule-charter-wont-be-fall-ballot <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">There will be no new Dallas home-rule school charter on November’s ballot. That outcome became clear soon after the home-rule commission met Monday night for only the second time.</span></p><p> Tue, 05 Aug 2014 17:05:00 +0000 Bill Zeeble 53601 at http://keranews.org Dallas Home-Rule Charter Won't Be On Fall Ballot Dallas Back To School Fair Draws 35,000 http://keranews.org/post/dallas-back-school-fair-draws-35000 <p>With the first day of school in Dallas a little more than three weeks away, thousands of kids and their parents flocked to the city’s annual Mayor's Back to School Fair today. They were lured to Fair Park by free backpacks (filled with supplies), health checks, and a good time.</p><p> Sat, 02 Aug 2014 00:25:13 +0000 Bill Zeeble 53492 at http://keranews.org Dallas Back To School Fair Draws 35,000 Free School Supplies, Health Checks Friday At Dallas Mayor's Back To School Fair http://keranews.org/post/free-school-supplies-health-checks-friday-dallas-mayors-back-school-fair <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Free school supplies will be handed out at the</span><span style="line-height: 1.5;"> 18th annual Mayor’s Back to School Fair in Dallas. It opens at 8 a.m. Friday in Fair Park.</span></p><p> Thu, 31 Jul 2014 19:05:00 +0000 Bill Zeeble 53426 at http://keranews.org Free School Supplies, Health Checks Friday At Dallas Mayor's Back To School Fair As Republican Leaders Meet In Dallas, Protesters Rally Outside http://keranews.org/post/republican-leaders-meet-dallas-protesters-rally-outside <p>Some of the nation’s most powerful Republican politicians are in Dallas this week for the annual convention of the American Legislative Exchange Council – known as ALEC. There was action inside and protests outside.</p><p> Thu, 31 Jul 2014 01:22:09 +0000 Bill Zeeble 53380 at http://keranews.org As Republican Leaders Meet In Dallas, Protesters Rally Outside SMU's Meadows Museum Adds To Its Growing Spanish Art Collection http://keranews.org/post/smus-meadows-museum-adds-its-growing-spanish-art-collection <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">The Meadows Museum, on the campus of Southern Methodist University, has just added three important works to its rapidly growing collection of Spanish art. The acquisitions will help lead up to the museum’s </span>50th a<span style="line-height: 1.5;">nniversary next year.</span></p><p> Wed, 30 Jul 2014 00:35:40 +0000 Bill Zeeble 53322 at http://keranews.org SMU's Meadows Museum Adds To Its Growing Spanish Art Collection