KERA News http://keranews.org en U.S. Issues Travel Restrictions On Venezuelan Officials http://keranews.org/post/us-issues-travel-restrictions-venezuelan-officials The State Department on Wednesday announced it was revoking visas for a number of Venezuelan government officials the U.S. Wed, 30 Jul 2014 16:10:00 +0000 Eyder Peralta 53347 at http://keranews.org U.S. Issues Travel Restrictions On Venezuelan Officials Plano Dad Invents Device That Can Fill 100 Water Balloons In A Minute http://keranews.org/post/plano-dad-invents-device-can-fill-100-water-balloons-minute <p><em>Five stories that have North Texas talking: a Plano man generates national buzz for his water balloon invention; legalizing gay marriage in Texas would generate $182 million in economic impact; David Sedaris&nbsp;is coming back to Dallas; and more.</em></p><p> Wed, 30 Jul 2014 15:55:53 +0000 Eric Aasen 53341 at http://keranews.org Plano Dad Invents Device That Can Fill 100 Water Balloons In A Minute Desk Desk Evolution http://keranews.org/post/desk-desk-evolution <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YU0Xk5pv3BA</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MEQj_b2nsn8</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=b2qoiUWfWM4</p> Wed, 30 Jul 2014 15:13:00 +0000 Linton Weeks 53346 at http://keranews.org Desk Desk Evolution WATCH: Video Shows Women Narrowly Escape Death On Railroad Tracks http://keranews.org/post/watch-video-shows-women-narrowly-escape-death-railroad-tracks <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=goFcYEKCuEU</p> Wed, 30 Jul 2014 14:14:00 +0000 Eyder Peralta 53345 at http://keranews.org WATCH: Video Shows Women Narrowly Escape Death On Railroad Tracks Anna Badkhen On The Heart Of Afghanistan, In The Work Of Women http://keranews.org/post/anna-badkhen-heart-afghanistan-work-women <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Years after covering conflict in Afghanistan, Anna </span>Badkhen<span style="line-height: 1.5;">&nbsp;returned to the country in 2011, traveling through a </span>roadless<span style="line-height: 1.5;"> desert to a poor village called </span>Oqa. Tonight,&nbsp;<span style="line-height: 1.5;">Badkhen&nbsp;speaks at The Wild Detectives bookstore in Oak Cliff.&nbsp;</span></p><p> Wed, 30 Jul 2014 13:34:10 +0000 Lyndsay Knecht 53343 at http://keranews.org Anna Badkhen On The Heart Of Afghanistan, In The Work Of Women U.S. Economy Rebounds In Spring With GDP Expanding At 4 Percent Rate http://keranews.org/post/us-economy-rebounds-spring-gdp-expanding-4-percent-rate The Commerce Department had some good news about the U.S. Wed, 30 Jul 2014 13:05:00 +0000 editor 53342 at http://keranews.org Gaza Conflict: Shell Strikes U.N. School, Killing Up To 19 Who Sought Shelter http://keranews.org/post/gaza-conflict-shell-strikes-un-school-killing-19-who-sought-shelter <h6><strong>(This post was last updated at 12:22 p.m. ET.)</strong></h6><p>As many as 19 people were killed when a shell struck a United Nations-run school this morning in Gaza.<p>In a message on Twitter, the commissioner-general of UNRWA, which is responsible for the welfare of Palestinian refugees, blamed the attack on the Israeli military.<p>"Children, women and men killed & injured as they slept in place where they should have been safe and protected," <a href="https://twitter.com/PKraehenbuehl">Pierre Krähenbühl</a> said, referring to the fact that the school was being used as a shelter. Wed, 30 Jul 2014 12:14:00 +0000 editor 53339 at http://keranews.org Gaza Conflict: Shell Strikes U.N. School, Killing Up To 19 Who Sought Shelter Q&A: Michelle Rhee On Teacher Tenure Challenges http://keranews.org/post/qa-michelle-rhee-teacher-tenure-challenges In Vergara v. California, lawyers for the plaintiffs argued that the state's teacher tenure system hurts poor, minority students because they are more likely to end up with "grossly ineffective" teachers. The case focused on three areas: tenure, cumbersome dismissal policies and seniority-based lay-offs. Los Angeles Superior Court Judge Rolf M. Treu ruled that several relevant state laws violated students' right to an education as spelled out in California's Constitution. Teachers unions have appealed.<p>The Vergara ruling is already reverberating across the country. Wed, 30 Jul 2014 12:03:00 +0000 Claudio Sanchez 53340 at http://keranews.org Q&A: Michelle Rhee On Teacher Tenure Challenges UCLA Floods As Water Main Break Dumps Up To 10 Million Gallons http://keranews.org/post/water-main-break-dumps-10-million-gallons-water-flooding-ucla A 90-year-old water main broke near the University of California, Los Angeles, on Tuesday, spilling 8 million to 10 million gallons of water.<p><a href="http://www.latimes.com/local/lanow/la-me-ln-flooding-on-sunset-near-ucla-20140729-story.html">As <em>The Los Angeles Times</em> explains</a>, officials are facing some tough questions this morning because it took them about four hours to figure out which valve needed to be closed. Wed, 30 Jul 2014 11:04:00 +0000 Eyder Peralta 53338 at http://keranews.org UCLA Floods As Water Main Break Dumps Up To 10 Million Gallons MillerCoors In Fort Worth Is Saving Water While Brewing Beer http://keranews.org/post/millercoors-fort-worth-saving-water-while-brewing-beer <p>The drought has tested industries across Texas in the last few years -- and it's even had an impact on beer.</p><p> Wed, 30 Jul 2014 11:00:00 +0000 Justin Martin 53254 at http://keranews.org MillerCoors In Fort Worth Is Saving Water While Brewing Beer