What A Week! KERA Collects 5 National Awards, Including 1st Murrow | KERA News

What A Week! KERA Collects 5 National Awards, Including 1st Murrow

Jun 26, 2017

KERA took home four awards from the Public Radio News Directors Inc. over the weekend, just a few days after the stations won its first-ever National Edward R. Murrow Award. That's five national  honors in a week and 36 awards for the station so far this year.

PRNDI Awards

At Saturday night's PRNDI awards dinner near Miami, KERA earned three first-places and one second among the nation's biggest public stations. It was part of a big night for the Texas Station Collaborative: In all, the state's biggest public radio stations collected 11 plaques.

Here are KERA's winners:

National Edward R. Murrow Award

Thorne Anderson and Courtney Collins were honored with the national Murrow award for excellence in video among large radio stations. Their video was part of the series, "One Crisis Away: Rebuilding A Life."

It's the station's first national Murrow Award from the Radio Television Digital News Association; KERA won a record eight regional Murrows this spring.

KERA's award-winning video features Jennifer Anderson, whose Garland apartment was ripped to pieces following a tornado in December 2015.

Watch the video

KERA's honor was one of three national Murrows that went to members of the Texas Station Collaborative. The statewide newsmagazine Texas Standard -- which airs out of KUT in Austin and is co-produced by KERA, Houston Public Media and Texas Public Radio in San Antonio -- won best documentary for "Out of the Blue" about the 50th anniversary of the UT Tower shooting. KUT also won for excellence in social media for a live blog featuring President Trump's visit to Austin when he was a presidential candidate.

The Texas Tribune, a partner of KERA, won four national Murrows -- overall excellence; continuing coverage for its Bordering On Insecurity project; excellence in social media for its Snapchat story "A Sniper On Campus;" and investigative reporting for its interactive hurricane project. The Dallas Morning News won the breaking news category for coverage of last summer's deadly police shootings in downtown Dallas.

Here's a complete list of this year's winners.

The awards will be presented in October in New York.

Regional Edward R. Murrow Awards

KERA has won eight regional Edward R. Murrow Awards, including overall excellence honors for large-market radio stations. That number is a record for the station.

KERA's total of eight regional awards ranked third nationally, behind WBUR in Boston (10) and WLRN in Miami (9).

In Texas, KUT in Austin won five -- including two for Texas Standard, the statewide newsmagazine that's a co-production with KERA, Houston Public Media and Texas Public Radio in San Antonio. TPR also won one regional Murrow among large stations. Marfa Public Radio collected all five small-market radio awards in the region.

The Texas Tribune, a partner of KERA, won six regional Murrows and was also honored with a George Foster Peabody Award for its project with ProPublica, "Hell and High Water." NPR also won a Peabody for its investigation of Wells Fargo.

KERA's previous best was six regional Murrows in 2015, including its first Overall Excellence award.

Reporter Courtney Collins was a three-time winner this year -- for Video, Hard News and Sports Reporting. Here's are the KERA winners:

These regional awards cover commercial and public radio stations in RTDNA's Region 6: Texas and Oklahoma. With these wins, KERA will compete for the national Edward R. Murrow Awards later in the year.

You can find a full list of regional Edward R. Murrow Award winners here

Other awards news this year:

Texas Associated Press Broadcasters

KERA won a station-record 16 awards from the Texas Associated Press Broadcasters. The station won five first-place awards, eight seconds and three honorable mentions. 

It was part of a dominant performance for the members of public radio's Texas Station Collaborative:

  • Texas Standard won five awards; the statewide public radio newsmagazine originates from KUT in Austin and is co-produced by KERA in North Texas, Houston Public Media and Texas Public Radio in San Antonio.
  • KUT also won 13 other awards, including six first places.
  • And Houston Public Media's KUHF earned five honors, including two first places.

Here are the KERA winners:

You can find the full list of TAPB winners here

Lone Star Awards

KERA won four first-place honors in the Lone Star Awards from the Houston Press Club – the most of any radio station – including a double win for the statewide conversation program “Think” and a radio-journalist-of-the-year trophy for Lauren Silverman. Combined with one second place and two thirds in the contest, KERA earned seven Lone Star Awards, bringing its total awards haul to 31 so far this year.

It was part of a sweep of the radio categories by members of the Texas Station Collaborative -- the partnership of the four biggest public radio stations in the state.

"Texas Standard," the statewide newsmagazine co-produced by KUT in Austin and the three other TSC stations, collected two first places and five Lone Star Awards overall. 

Houston Public Media won 11 Lone Stars, including five in television categories. Texas Public Radio in San Antonio earned eight, including one first place.

The Houston Press Club handed out the trophies at a June 10 awards dinner. Here are the KERA winners:

You can find the full list of Lone Star Award winners here.