Top Stories: Dallas Pension Solution Takes Next Step; State Lawmakers Making Progress On Budget | KERA News

Top Stories: Dallas Pension Solution Takes Next Step; State Lawmakers Making Progress On Budget

May 18, 2017

The top local stories this evening from KERA News:

A bill that aims to fix the troubled Dallas Police and Fire Pension fund took a big step forward today at the Texas Capitol. The Senate State Affairs Committee voted to advance the bill to the Senate floor. First, the State House also will have to vote to approve the Senate version of the bill. 

Other stories this evening:

  • Texas Lt. Governor Dan Patrick is threatening to force a special session in order to pass a so-called bathroom bill and legislation regarding property tax rates. House Speaker Joe Straus says lawmakers can avoid a special session. Texas Tribune executive editor Ross Ramsey says lawmakers are making progress on the state budget.

  • About 50 companies – from Starbucks to Domino's Pizza – are prepared to offer 1,700 jobs to young people in Dallas Friday. The 100,000 Opportunities Initiative is a coalition of national employers and social service organizations and it’s hosting its first-ever Dallas Opportunity Fair at the Kay Bailey Hutchison Convention Center in downtown. 

  • Fans of NPR’s Wait, Wait Don’t Tell Me know comedian Paula Poundstone as a regular panelist on the show. In her new book, “The Totally Unscientific Study of the Search for Human Happiness,” Poundstone tries everything from ballroom dancing to driving a Lamborghini to discover the secret to happiness. Today on Think, Krys Boyd talked with the comedian about one thing that didn’t make her happier – Facebook.

  • African and African-American women have worn headwraps for hundreds of years. Some wear them for religious or cultural purposes, others for fashion. Each week in the Art&Seek series, Artist Spotlight, we follow the personal journey of a North Texas creative. This week, Hady Mawajdeh connects with a designer to learn how the garb went from statements of oppression to statements of power.

 You can listen to North Texas stories weekdays at 8:22 a.m. and 6:20 p.m. on KERA 90.1 FM.