KERA's Zeeble Named Nation's Best Broadcast Beat Reporter By Education Writers | KERA News

KERA's Zeeble Named Nation's Best Broadcast Beat Reporter By Education Writers

May 17, 2018

Bill Zeeble, a 26-year veteran of KERA News, has been named best broadcast beat reporter in the country by the Education Writers Association. 

Zeeble was honored Wednesday night in Los Angeles at the EWA's national conference. 

The KERA entry included Zeeble's contributions to the series Race, Poverty and the Changing Face of Schools, as well as stories on food insecurity on a college campus and a group of 1,300 dads who've come together to bolster a local high school.

"Bill Zeeble's best stories artfully weave together images, sounds and video to draw audiences into stories filled with people," one EWA judge wrote.

Two other public radio organizations also received EWA awards: WBEZ in Chicago and the investigative news program Reveal, which airs Saturday nights at 7 on KERA radio. 

Here's a complete list of EWA winners.

The honor is a first for the station and is KERA's 19th award so far this year. Here are KERA's other honors so far this year:

Headliners Foundation of Texas Awards

Christopher Connelly, who covers Fort Worth and politics for KERA, has been named the state's best radio reporter by the Charles E. Green Awards from the Headliners Foundation of Texas. 

Connelly was the only public radio reporter honored with a Green Award. The Headliners Foundation selected 11 Green Award winners from a field made up of awardees from the Texas Associated Press Broadcasters and the Texas AP Managing Editors. Connelly was a double winner in the AP Broadcasters contest. The Green Awards will be presented in September.

Regional Edward R. Murrow Awards

KERA's multimedia project "One Crisis Away: No Place To Go" won two of the station's three regional Edward R. Murrow Awards. The series, reported by Courtney Collins and Jessica Diaz-Hurtado, earned top honors for news series and continuing coverage. KERA's Dane Walters was also honored for excellence in video for his Art&Seek Artist Spotlight profile of jazz saxophonist Brad Leali.

Texas Standard won three Murrows in Region 6, which covers stations in Texas and Oklahoma. The public radio newsmagazine, which airs weekdays at 10 a.m. and 8 p.m., is a co-production of KUT in Austin, KERA, Houston Public Media and Texas Public Radio in San Antonio -- which make up the Texas Station Collaborative.

KUT won five other regional Murrows; TPR won two. That means Collaborative stations won 13 of the 15 Murrows in Region 6. KRLD earned the other two, including Overall Excellence.

In the small-station regional competition, Marfa Public Radio won nine of the 10 categories. The Texas Tribune, another KERA partner, won seven regional Murrows for small digital organization.

All the regional winners move on to the national Murrow competition this fall. Here's the complete list of regional Murrow winners. KERA won its first national Murrow last year, for an earlier "One Crisis Away" project.

Here are KERA's regional Murrow award winners:

Texas Associated Press Broadcasters Awards

Journalists from KERA  won five first-place Texas Associated Press Broadcasters awards, and 12 honors in all. Christopher Connelly was a double winner, for reporter of the year and best serious feature. Jerome Weeks and the station's Art&Seek team also earned two first-place honors: Weeks for specialty or beat reporting and the Artist Spotlight series for online/special content.

The KERA project "One Crisis Away: No Place To Go" was named best investigative report and also collected two second-place honors.

Every current KERA reporter was honored in at least one category.

KUT in Austin -- a partner in the Texas Station Collaborative with KERA, Houston Public Media and Texas Public Radio in San Antonio -- won 16 Texas AP Broadcasters Awards this year. Eleven were first place, including overall excellence.

Here are KERA's winners:

Here's a complete list of Texas AP Broadcasters Awards.

Anson M. Jones, M.D., Awards

KERA earned two health-reporting awards from the Texas Medical Association. TMA representatives came to the station to present the Anson Jones, M.D., Awards:

First Amendment Awards

  • KERA's series One Crisis Away: No Place To Go has been named a finalist by the Society of Professional Journalists' Fort Worth chapter. Courtney Collins, Jessica Diaz-Hurtado, Molly Evans, Justin Bowers and Christy Robinson were honored.