Justin Martin http://keranews.org en VIDEO: Teen Who Survived Skydiving Accident Is 'Doing Better Every Day' http://keranews.org/post/video-teen-who-survived-skydiving-accident-doing-better-every-day <p>A 16-year-old North Texas girl who plummeted more than 3,000 feet to the ground in a skydiving accident in Oklahoma says she panicked then blacked out after her parachute malfunctioned and doesn't remember striking the ground.<br /><br />Makenzie Wethington of Joshua spoke Thursday from a wheelchair during a news conference at Baylor University Medical Center in Dallas.<br />&nbsp;</p><p> Thu, 13 Feb 2014 20:30:42 +0000 Justin Martin & Associated Press 45239 at http://keranews.org Space: The Final Frontier For Dirk Nowitzki? http://keranews.org/post/space-final-frontier-dirk-nowitzki <p>Dirk Nowitzki&nbsp;has done just about everything a basketball player can do: He's the the first European-born player to win the NBA's MVP award. He led the Mavericks to the NBA title. And he's an 11-time All-Star.&nbsp;</p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Next up: How 'bout a shot into space?</span></p><p> Tue, 22 Jan 2013 19:05:04 +0000 Justin Martin 26898 at http://keranews.org Space: The Final Frontier For Dirk Nowitzki? West Nile Cases Increase Across Texas http://keranews.org/post/west-nile-cases-increase-across-texas <p>The city of Rowlett is among those reporting increases in human cases of West Nile Virus.</p> Thu, 02 Aug 2012 19:44:34 +0000 Justin Martin 19279 at http://keranews.org West Nile Cases Increase Across Texas Dallas Police Increase Security Following Colorado Shooting http://keranews.org/post/dallas-police-increase-security-following-colorado-shooting <p>In response to the shooting that occurred in Aurora, Colorado, the Dallas Police Department says it has ".. instructed patrol officers to provide extra visibility and to be extra vigilant at public locations where large numbers of people gather, such as movie theaters."</p> Fri, 20 Jul 2012 17:40:36 +0000 Shelley Kofler & Justin Martin 18693 at http://keranews.org Dallas Police Increase Security Following Colorado Shooting NTTA Publishes Unpaid Toll List http://keranews.org/post/ntta-publishes-unpaid-toll-list <p>Today, The North Texas Tollway Authority has followed through on its promise to post a list of the top toll scofflaws online, including 22 who each owe more than $100,000.</p> Wed, 11 Jul 2012 19:13:13 +0000 Justin Martin 18250 at http://keranews.org NTTA Publishes Unpaid Toll List Driver Involved In Tollway Crash Fired http://keranews.org/post/driver-involved-tollway-crash-fired <p>The driver of the DART bus involved in a tollway crash last month has been fired.</p> Tue, 10 Jul 2012 17:52:50 +0000 Justin Martin 18185 at http://keranews.org Driver Involved In Tollway Crash Fired Bally Total Fitness Agrees To Refunds http://keranews.org/post/bally-total-fitness-agrees-refunds <p class="legacy-audio-url"> <div class="audio-container"> <div id="jp-interface-53cf8df864546-" class="jp-interface"> <div id="post-audio-53cf8df864546-" class="jp-player" jp-instance="53cf8df864546-"></div> <div class="jp-controls column"> <div class="jp-progress"> <div class="jp-seek-bar"> <div class="jp-play-bar"></div> </div> </div><!-- end jp-progress --> </div><!-- end jp-controls --> <div class="playpause column"> <a href="http://stream.publicbroadcasting.net/production/mp3/kera/local-kera-921462.mp3" class="jp-play">Listen</a> <a class="jp-pause"></a> </div><!-- playpause --> <div class="jp-time-holder column"> <div class="jp-custom-current-time"></div> <div class="jp-custom-duration"></div> </div><!-- jp-time-holder --> <div id="slider"></div> </div><!-- .jp-interface --> </div><!-- container --> </p> <p>Dallas, TX – Bally Total Fitness has agreed to pay back Texans caught in a deceptive mailing campaign. KERA's Justin Martin has more.</p> Tue, 31 Aug 2010 08:41:01 +0000 Justin Martin 6217 at http://keranews.org Bally Total Fitness Agrees To Refunds