Eric Aasen http://keranews.org en Big And Blue: Big Tex's New Clothes Are Unveiled http://keranews.org/post/big-and-blue-big-texs-new-clothes-are-unveiled <p>Big Tex has some new big duds.&nbsp;<span style="line-height: 1.5;">The State Fair of Texas on Tuesday morning unveiled new clothes for its iconic cowboy.</span></p><p> Tue, 26 Aug 2014 21:23:51 +0000 Eric Aasen 54643 at http://keranews.org Big And Blue: Big Tex's New Clothes Are Unveiled Rabbits: Pets Or Dinner? Whole Foods Under Fire For Serving Rabbit Meat http://keranews.org/post/rabbits-pets-or-dinner-whole-foods-under-fire-serving-rabbit-meat <p><em><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Five stories that have North Texas talking: Whole Foods sells rabbit meat, but not in Texas; T-shirts feature </span>Gov<span style="line-height: 1.5;">. Perry’s </span>mugshot<span style="line-height: 1.5;">; a look back at the first day of school; and more.</span></em></p><p> Tue, 26 Aug 2014 13:12:58 +0000 Eric Aasen 54636 at http://keranews.org Rabbits: Pets Or Dinner? Whole Foods Under Fire For Serving Rabbit Meat RickPAC Sells T-Shirt Featuring Gov. Perry’s Mugshot http://keranews.org/post/rickpac-sells-t-shirt-featuring-gov-perry-s-mugshot <p>Gov. Rick Perry’s smiling mugshot ricocheted across the internet last week – and now it’s on a T-shirt.</p><p><o:p></o:p></p><p> Mon, 25 Aug 2014 19:24:40 +0000 Eric Aasen 54596 at http://keranews.org RickPAC Sells T-Shirt Featuring Gov. Perry’s Mugshot Dallas Zoo Lion Bites And Scratches A Zookeeper http://keranews.org/post/dallas-zoo-lion-bites-and-scratches-zookeeper <p><em>Five stories that have North Texas talking: a lion injures a zookeeper at the Dallas Zoo; it’s the first day of school for most kids in North Texas; the Rev. Bill McElvaney has died; and more.</em></p><p> Mon, 25 Aug 2014 18:15:20 +0000 Eric Aasen 54585 at http://keranews.org Dallas Zoo Lion Bites And Scratches A Zookeeper Does Dallas Have The World's Best Skyline? http://keranews.org/post/does-dallas-have-worlds-best-skyline <p style="margin-left:.25in;"><em>Five stories that have North Texas talking: Does Dallas have the best skyline in the world?; the Fort Worth-trained doctor who recovered from Ebola says he's thrilled to be alive; Sarah Jaffe is performing in Dallas this weekend; and more.</em></p><p style="margin-left:.25in;"> Fri, 22 Aug 2014 22:16:44 +0000 Eric Aasen 54470 at http://keranews.org Does Dallas Have The World's Best Skyline? In Dallas, Poverty Has Skyrocketed Over The Past Decade http://keranews.org/post/dallas-poverty-has-skyrocketed-over-past-decade <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Dallas’ poor population has exploded.</span></p><p>From 2000 to 2012, the number of poor people in Dallas rose by 41 percent. That far outweighs the city's overall 5 percent population growth during the same period.</p><p> Thu, 21 Aug 2014 20:05:00 +0000 BJ Austin & Eric Aasen 54439 at http://keranews.org In Dallas, Poverty Has Skyrocketed Over The Past Decade 'I Am Thrilled To Be Alive,' Says Kent Brantly, Who's Recovered From Ebola http://keranews.org/post/i-am-thrilled-be-alive-says-kent-brantly-whos-recovered-ebola <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Dr. Kent </span>Brantly<span style="line-height: 1.5;">, the Fort Worth-trained doctor who contracted the Ebola virus in Liberia, says he's thrilled to be alive.&nbsp;</span></p><p> Thu, 21 Aug 2014 18:56:53 +0000 Eric Aasen & Associated Press 54422 at http://keranews.org 'I Am Thrilled To Be Alive,' Says Kent Brantly, Who's Recovered From Ebola The Dallas Cowboys Are Worth $3.2 Billion http://keranews.org/post/dallas-cowboys-are-worth-32-billion <p><em><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Five stories that have North Texas talking: the Dallas Cowboys are the NFL’s most valuable team; Dallas’ poor population has skyrocketed; about 40 percent of Texas kids took the ACT this year; and more.</span></em></p><p> Thu, 21 Aug 2014 12:58:57 +0000 Eric Aasen 54417 at http://keranews.org The Dallas Cowboys Are Worth $3.2 Billion Fort Worth Vet Suspended Over Alleged Animal Abuse Seeks Settlement http://keranews.org/post/fort-worth-vet-suspended-over-alleged-animal-abuse-seeks-settlement <p><em>Five stories that have North Texas talking: Gov. Rick Perry turns himself in – then goes out for ice cream; recent rains aren’t helping North Texas lakes; a Denton college is housing students at the Holiday Inn; and more.</em></p><p> Wed, 20 Aug 2014 12:17:54 +0000 Eric Aasen 54364 at http://keranews.org Fort Worth Vet Suspended Over Alleged Animal Abuse Seeks Settlement 'We Will Prevail:' Gov. Perry Turns Himself In At Travis County Jail http://keranews.org/post/we-will-prevail-gov-perry-turns-himself-travis-county-jail <p style="margin: 0in 0in 12pt; background-image: initial; background-attachment: initial; background-size: initial; background-origin: initial; background-clip: initial; background-position: initial; background-repeat: initial;"><span style="color: rgb(34, 34, 34); font-family: Georgia, serif; font-size: 11.5pt; line-height: 1.5;">Gov. Rick Perry arrived at the Travis County Jail around 5 p.m. Tuesday for his booking. Hundreds of people gathered, many chanting “Perry! Perry! Perry!”</span></p><p> Wed, 20 Aug 2014 03:33:46 +0000 Eric Aasen 54341 at http://keranews.org 'We Will Prevail:' Gov. Perry Turns Himself In At Travis County Jail